Blog Challenge

Just another WordPress.com site

AOW- Gratitude Makes us Healthier November 18, 2011

Filed under: Article of the Week — prushton101 @ 4:06 am

I agree with this article because when you are thankful for what you have, instead of sad for what you do not have, you are focused on the positive.   This makes me feel better, so it makes sense that it would be good for anyone’s health.

The article makes three suggestions which I think are all good ideas:

1) Keep a daily journal of three things you are thankful for. This works well first thing in the morning, or just before you go to bed.

 

This is a great idea.  It is better than just thinking it because it is a stronger thought when you write something. The problem with this is finding the time to write anything down.  Once I get all of my homework done, I want to sleep.  This does not mean that I am not grateful, just too tired to write anything else.  This would be a good idea for the summer or a holiday period.

2) Make it a practice to tell a spouse, partner or friend something you appreciate about them every day.

 

This is another good idea because we often forget to tell the most important people how much they mean to us.

3) Look in the mirror when you are brushing your teeth, and think about something you have done well recently or something you like about yourself.

This is the hardest for me because sometimes I am critical about myself, but it is probably the most important thing to appreciate one’s self.  This is the best idea from the article for me to try.

 

 

Leave a Reply

